MÖTLEY CRÜE drummer Tommy Lee spoke to Billboard.com about the band’s upcoming summer headlining tour with support from POISON and NEW YORK DOLLS.

“It’s definitely not Crüe Fest. Crüe Fest is, like, five [bands], and this is just the three of us. But it’s special because it’s another CRÜE tour and it’s summertime, man. That’s always special.”


“I’m really excited about the DOLLS. They were in that handful of early inspirations when we were all 17 and 18 years old, looking at their style and their music. So it’s cool to go on tour with them.”

On rumored rivalry with POISON:

“I never really got into all that…rivalry or feud. Just go up and bang out your tunes, dude. Who cares about anything else? I really don’t.”

On the film adaptation of the CRÜE‘s 2002 memoir “The Dirt – Confessions of the World’s Most Notorious Rock Band”, which is now on track with Rob Zombie as its director:

“That would be a cool place to release some new [MÖTLEY CRÜE] music. It gives new reason for new music. People aren’t really buying records these days, so it seems like a good place to maybe put something new from us.”

Read more from Billboard.com.

From the team that brought you “We Wish You A Metal Xmas” comes “SIN-atra”, heavy metal’s tribute to the genius of Frank Sinatra. Twelve songs made famous by Ol’ Blue Eyes are given a radical and individual new treatment from some of the finest voices in rock including members of ANTHRAX, TWISTED SISTER, DEEP PURPLE, QUEENSRŸCHE, MR. BIG, WARRANT, NONPOINT, STRAPPING YOUNG LAD, KING’S X and CHEAP TRICK with the backing of a superb band led by guitarist Bob Kulick (KISS, MEAT LOAF). The songs are known to everyone but you’ve never heard them quite like this before!

“SIN-atra” track listing:

01. New York, New York (Devin Townsend)
02. I’ve Got You Under My Skin (Glenn Hughes)
03. Summerwind (Geoff Tate)
04. It Was A Very Good Year (Dee Snider)
05. Witchcraft (Tim “Ripper” Owens)
06. Fly Me To The Moon (Robin Zander)
07. Lady Is A Tramp (Eric Martin)
08. I’ve Got The World On A String (Doug Pinnick)
09. Love And Marriage (Elias Soriano)
10. Strangers In The Night (Joey Belladonna)
11. High Hopes (Franky Perez)
12. That’s Life (Jani Lane)

The “SIN-atra” house band features Bob Kulick (guitar); Brett Chassen (drums); Billy Sheehan (bass); Doug Katsaros (keyboards, orchestrations); Richie Kotzen (lead guitar on “That’s Life”).

“SIN-atra” will be in stores March 29 via Eagle Rock Entertainment.

VH1 Classic‘s “That Metal Show” is back in Los Angeles and ready to shake things up for lucky season seven on Saturday, March 19 at 11 p.m. ET/PT. Members of some of the biggest metal acts, including METALLICA and WHITESNAKE, grace the “That Metal Show” stage to give viewers a true power hour that all hard rock and heavy metal enthusiasts are certain to love.

The boys are back and ready to rock! Eddie Trunk, Jim Florentine and Don Jamieson host the only talk show where all things hard rock and heavy metal are discussed, dissected and debated. Metal musicians and rock royalty, including Kirk Hammett (METALLICA), David Coverdale (WHITESNAKE) and Lita Ford (THE RUNAWAYS), will be part of the roundtable discussions this season. Guests and premiere dates include the below, at 11 p.m. ET/PT:

March 19

* Kirk Hammett (METALLICA)
* Uli John Roth (SCORPIONS)

March 26

* Ace Frehley (KISS)
* Billy Sheehan (MR. BIG, DAVID LEE ROTH)

April 2

* Lita Ford (THE RUNAWAYS)

April 9

* Chris Jericho (FOZZY, WWE wrestling champion)

April 16


April 23

* Matt Sorum (GUNS N’ ROSES)
* Cherie Currie (THE RUNAWAYS)
* Jim Norton (comedian on “Opie And Anthony” and “The Howard Stern Show”)

April 30

* Sebastian Bach (SKID ROW)

May 7

* Dave Meniketti (Y&T)

Distilling decades of your favorite hard rock and heavy metal into sixty minutes of mayhem; “That Metal Show” will deliver the ever-popular “Stump The Trunk” as well as the triumphant return of “TMS Top 5” to your TV every Saturday night at 11 p.m., only on VH1 Classic. Fans can also catch the complete season six and bonus clips at ThatMetalShow.VH1.com. New episodes of season seven will launch online every Monday morning following the show’s on-air premiere.

“That Metal Show” is a production of VH1 Classic. Lee Rolontz and Keshia Williams as executive producers for VH1. Jeff Baumgardner serves as producer for the series for VH1.

Reunited grunge legends SOUNDGARDEN will enter a Seattle-area studio in about a week with producer Adam Kasper (who worked on SOUNDGARDEN‘s last LP, 1996’s “Down On The Upside”) to begin recording their new album.

The quartet — singer Chris Cornell, guitarist Kim Thayil, drummer Matt Cameron, and bassist Ben Shepherd — plans to spend as long as necessary to “make an album that we all really love,” Cornell tells Spin.com. “We don’t have a schedule,” he adds. “It’s not like we are going to go into the studio and come out when we’re finished with an album.”

“We’re putting the music first,” Cornell explains. “The process of writing, recording, and being creative together is the most important thing, not meeting a deadline.”

After playing only a handful of concerts in 2010 (including an acclaimed appearance at last year’s Lollapalooza), the group working on booking more dates for 2011. “We plan on playing shows for sure — that’s never been in question,” Cornell tells Spin.com. “Then when we have some time again we’ll get back into the studio.”

According to Cornell, the recording process will be much more laid back this time around, rather than keeping to a strict schedule.

“The main thing that got in the way of us wanting to be in SOUNDGARDEN is that long cycle of write, record, promote, release, tour — then do it all over again,” explains Cornell. “It all fit into a schedule and SOUNDGARDEN come completely from indie roots. We were a Do It Yourself band that became part of a bigger picture. But we’re being really carefully now to do this on our own time.”

“We’re doing things at a pace that’s comfortable for everybody,” Cornell adds.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s